e-bay Fraud Alert

Fraud? or Phishing?

.

An e-mail is under circulation in the name of e-bay Fraud alert  which appears to be an attempt at phishing for critical information from the unwary Netizens.

Netizens may kindly take steps not to fall prey.

A copy of the mail received today by the undersigned was as follows:

 
***Urgent Safeharbor Department Notice***
 
eBay Fraud Mediation Request
Date: Sat, 31 Jul 2004

You have recieved this email because you or someone had used your account to make fake bids at eBay. For security purposes, we are required to open an investigation into this matter.

THE FRAUD ALERT ID CODE CONTAINED IN THIS MESSAGE WILL BE ATTACHED IN OUR FRAUD MEDIATION REQUEST FORM, IN ORDER TO VERIFY YOUR EBAY ACCOUNT REGISTRATION INFORMATIONS.

Fraud Alert ID CODE: 00937614
(Please save this Fraud Alert ID Code for your reference.)

To help speed up this process, please access the following form to complete the verification of your eBay account registration informations:

http://scgi.ebay.com/verify_id=ebay &fraud alert id code=00937614

.
Please Note:
If we do not receive the appropriate eBay account verification within 48 hours, then we will assume this eBay account is fraudulent and will be suspended.
The purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat the fraud from our community.

We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.

Thank you for your patience in this matter.

Regards, Safeharbor Department (Trust and Safety Department)
eBay Inc.


Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.



Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc. eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.

 

 

The header information of the mail is


Return-path: <root@loki.smarttalk.com>
Received: from mx2 (xcat2-a.vsnl.net [172.16.28.172])
by pop1.vsnl.net (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.16 (built May 14
2003)) with SMTP id <0I1P00GEI36MAC@pop1.vsnl.net> for naavi@vsnl.com; Sat,
31 Jul 2004 08:05:10 +0530 (IST)
Received: from source ([172.16.28.178]) by ldaps ([172.16.28.172])
with SMTP; Sat, 31 Jul 2004 07:52:17 +0530
Received: from loki.smarttalk.com ([65.126.125.6])
by mx2.vsnl.net (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.16 (built May 14 2003))
with ESMTP id <0I1P00GMV35FB2@mx2.vsnl.net> for naavi@vsnl.com; Sat,
31 Jul 2004 08:04:32 +0530 (IST)
Received: (from root@localhost) by loki.smarttalk.com (8.9.3/8.9.3)
id UAA01325; Fri, 30 Jul 2004 20:30:50 -0600
Date: Fri, 30 Jul 2004 20:30:50 -0600
From: "aw-confirm@eBay.com" <aw-confirm@eBay.com>
Subject: TKO Notice: ***Urgent Safeharbor Department Notice***
To: naavi@vsnl.com
Message-id: <200407310230.UAA01325@loki.smarttalk.com>
MIME-version: 1.0
Content-type: text/html
Content-transfer-encoding: 8BIT
X-pstn-version: pmps:sps_solaris_1_1_0c0 pase:2.0
X-pstn-levels: (C:62.7687 M:96.5825 P:95.9108 R:95.9108 S: 2.4579 )
X-pstn-settings: 3 (0.1000:0.2000) p:14 m:13 C:13 r:14
X-pstn-addresses: from <aw-confirm@eBay.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;naavi@vsnl.com


The hyperlink (Removed in this document both in the copy of the mail and here)  in the mail http://211.202.3.208/event_1201/popup.files/.eBay/eBayISAPI.php?MfcISAPICommand=SignInFPP&UsingSSL=1&email=&userid=

The IP address appears to be located in South Korea and belongs to Hanaro Telecom Inc.
 Shindongah Bldg., 43 Taepyeongno2-Ga Jung-Gu,: SEOUL

I request any information available on this mail and the attempted fraud to be sent to the undersigned so that the information may be placed for the notice of the public.

Naavi

July 31, 2004



For Structured Online Courses in Cyber laws, Visit Cyber Law College.com

 

Back To Naavi.org