e-bay Billing

Fraud? or Phishing?

.

An e-mail is under circulation in the name of e-bay Billing Update which appears to be an attempt at phishing for critical information from the unwary Netizens.

Netizens may kindly take steps not to fall prey.

A copy of the mail received today by the undersigned was as follows:


eBay logo
spacer
spacer
spacer
  spacer
spacer

 
Dear eBay member,

This is an automated message sent to you by eBay Billing Update.

We have recently tried to VeriCharge your credit or debit card we have on record for $0.01, and the charge was declined. The $0.01 charge is only to confirm that the credit or debit card that you submitted to eBay is current. The charge being declined was likely caused by your credit card being over its limit or that the account has been cancelled.

In order for us to keep your account open we need to verify the status of your credit or debit card. In furtherance all flagged accounts will be given a full 48 hours prior to eBay suspending your account. We thank you for your response and look forward to continuing to serve you.

Please click here: http://billing.ebay.com to proceed to our secure 128 bit SSL encrypted billing server.



Yours sincerely,

Dave Meyers
eBay Billing Department

 


 

spacer
spacer
  spacer
spacer

This notice was sent to: naavi@vsnl.com

Encrypted Security Key: Verisign v3.542
ztldhi 80230 652695 ztldhi 811879
652695 ztldhi 80230 652695 ztldhi 811879
 


The header information of the mail is


Return-path: <nive68@btinternet.com>
Received: from mx2 (xcat2-a.vsnl.net [172.16.28.172])
by pop1.vsnl.net (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.16 (built May 14
2003)) with SMTP id <0I1N00DJS5VON6@pop1.vsnl.net> for naavi@vsnl.com; Fri,
30 Jul 2004 07:08:12 +0530 (IST)
Received: from source ([172.16.28.178]) by ldaps ([172.16.28.172])
with SMTP; Fri, 30 Jul 2004 06:55:19 +0530
Received: from host44.systronix.com ([166.70.144.44])
by mx2.vsnl.net (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.16 (built May 14 2003))
with SMTP id <0I1N00AFX5UIVR@mx2.vsnl.net> for naavi@vsnl.com; Fri,
30 Jul 2004 07:07:34 +0530 (IST)
Date: Fri, 30 Jul 2004 07:07:33 +0530 (IST)
Date-warning: Date header was inserted by mx2.vsnl.net
From: eBay Billing Update <billingupdate@ebay.com>
Subject: naavi@vsnl.com: eBay Billing Update failed - SafeMsg: 652695
To: naavi@vsnl.com
Message-id: <0I1N00AG15UJVR@mx2.vsnl.net>
MIME-version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.652695.811879
Content-type: Multipart/related; type="multipart/alternative";
boundary="------------Boundary-00=_AA652695"
X-pstn-version: pmps:sps_solaris_1_1_0c0 pase:2.0
X-pstn-levels: (C:92.2131 M:97.3254 P:95.9108 R:95.9108 S: 0.6098 )
X-pstn-settings: 3 (0.1000:0.1000) p:14 m:13 c:13 r:14
X-pstn-addresses: from <billingupdate@ebay.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;naavi@vsnl.com


The hyperlink (Removed in this document both in the copy of the mail and here)  in the mail http://billing.ebay.com points to http://211.218.39.155/ebay/index.html

The IP address appears to be located in South Korea and belongs to iworkseu network, 3cheung 1 212beonji ichondong yongsanku, Seoul.

I request any information available on this mail and the attempted fraud to be sent to the undersigned so that the information may be placed for the notice of the public.

Naavi

July 30, 2004



For Structured Online Courses in Cyber laws, Visit Cyber Law College.com

 

Back To Naavi.org